Close

Review Product

Overall rating:

91% Write a Review

Snow Wolf Wovel Snow Shovel


Only registered users can write a review. Click here to log in.
Bad Excellent

100%

Although this product was a little hard to put together, it is well made and does the job. It will save your back and that's worth the effort with assembly of the product. I have a bad back and anything that saves me the pain is a blessing. Pushing down instead of lifting a shovel full of snow is great. The DVD of how to use and assemble the Snow Wolf is great.

1/9/2013 7:28 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (0/0)
100%

I'M THE FIRST IN OUR BLOCK (PERHAPS IN THE CITY?) AND HEARD THINGS LIKE: "WHAT IS IT? WHERE DID YOU BUY IT? CAN I TRY IT?"

1/9/2013 7:28 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (0/0)
100%


I used ordinary shovels to clear snow on the sidewalk and when I am done cleaning snow, I used to suffer with back and led pains. But when my company bought 2 sno wovels and started to use them I had no pain and easy to use without putting pressure on my legs and back. I think is one of the best inventions for snow removal. I highly recommend this product because the snowovels do not use gas to pollute the environment and they do remove and push snow faster than ordinary shovels. Reynold R.

1/9/2013 7:28 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (0/0)
100%

I bought the snow "WOVEL" this past fall and finally used it late january. It Is GREAT !!! I have major back problems, and this (one man snow plow) is a godsend.I would highly recommend the Wovel to everyone. Thank You very much, Ken S. Springfield, MO

1/9/2013 7:28 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (0/0)
100%

I ordered this wovel shovel during the biggest snow storm in fifty years in Oregon. Usually it only rains here, so I didn't have a shovel, and all the stores sold out because of the severe storm. I hoped to get this in the mail to shovel our 1/2 mile private driveway, but we didn't get mail service until the snow melted. I did receive and assemble this, though, and tested it out in the living room, and it seems like it will be a godsend if we ever get another big snow! It assembled fairly easily, and seems to work just as the description and video say it will. I am very satisfied, and now feel prepared for the next bad winter!

1/9/2013 7:28 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (0/0)
100%

I bought the "Sno Wovel" because it's environmentally friendly (no motor -- no gas needed).  It was relatively easy to assemble.  Just make sure that the rubber part of the wheel is at room temperature so that it stretches easily over the wheel frame.  I'm a +50 year old petite women with a long, wide, and steep driveway.  I have used the Sno Wovel 4 times this winter with  great success.  I have even noticed that I can clear my driveway faster than my much young neighbor using his snow blower!  Although, my upper arms were a little sore after using it the first time, I've increased the strength in my arms after each use (a definite PLUS)!  I highly recommend the "Sno Wovel"!  

1/9/2013 7:28 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (0/0)
100%

Determined that my one-year old Sno Wovel and I both remain "ActiveForever", the Snap-On Wear Strips ordered recently are perfectly adapted to protect the shovel's edge. I tend to raise the handles when pushing to get the edge to really scrape the driveway clean, and must say, the strip wears much more slowly with this treatment than I thought it would. -Gary.

1/9/2013 7:28 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (0/0)
100%

I have owned this machine for about 6 weeks now. Anticipating a heavier then usual snow fall for this area (Grand Lake, CO) I put the money out for it, two days after it was delivered - we got 10 inches of sloppy wet snow on the ground. My driveway is 20 feet wide and 50 feet long, plus I have about 30 feet of standard width sidewalk. It was completed in less then 30 minutes. I also have areas at work that I am responsible for (approx. 1500 sq.feet) Since that time, I have used the wovel with depths of 2 to 16 inches and just about every type of snow imaginable(from wet heavy to fluffy powder for a total of around 47 inches of snow in the past 6 weeks), times are within the 20-30 minute mark(for the home areas) and no back pain, shortness of breath, etc. etc.

I had no issues putting the wovel together, the instructions I recieved worked well and it took about 30-40 minutes total. The bolts and metal parts are coated and I have yet to spot any rust forming, something that has been mentioned in other reviews where the reviewer replaced all of his bolts with stainless versions. I have not seen a need for this.

Compared to a snow blower - I have had alot of issues with auger blades sticking in wet snow, getting powder snow blown back at me (although the wife thought I made a cute snowman) and told to change in the garage due to the smell of exhaust fumes and the like. Not to mention storing, cleaning, maintenance, etc. of the snow blower - no thanks.

The actual use of the wovel was fairly intuative, for me at least, it looks very unstable, but once you start using it, you can tell that alot of careful thought went into the production of this machine. Not that my fellow park service employees dont give me a bad time about how funny it looks, well untill they try it out anyway.

As for cost - I have been told that someone can buy alot of cheap snow shovels for 130.00, which is true. But the true cost is not only the price of something, but the time involved in using it. In my case it is a difference between 20-30 minutes and 1.5 - 2 hours, I don't know about you, but MY TIME is fairly expensive. Another thing to think about - ONE wrong move with a snow shovel, and how much time will you lose at work, or with your family?

Another argument that have heard around here is the EXERCISE value has diminished - seriously. Go for a walk (snowshoeing and cross country skiing are big here) you will have more time on your hands, so get your exercise in a little more sane manner!!

A word about MY customer service experience - I carry the Wovel on the back of my jeep (I use it at work almost as much as I use it at home), one early morning, I was not paying attention and backing out of the garage I caught one of the handles, cursing my stupidity, I got out and tried to fix it, breaking it completely off. I was ready to purchase A WHOLE NEW WOVEL, but I contacted customer service and within 4 days, I had a new handle. COMPLETELY MY FAULT, and yet they sent the handle via Fed-Ex at their cost. I AM A HUGE FAN!!
If you are ever in the Grand Lake area in the winter - I work at the national park and you might likely see me "woveling" in the area.

CONCLUSION
I really kind of like using this machine - it makes truly short work of what used to be a crap*py but neccesary CHORE.

1/9/2013 7:28 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (1/0)
60%

We have not had any real measurable snowfall since I purchased the Sno Wovel, but am anxiously awaiting the day when I can truly test it out.

1/9/2013 7:28 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (0/0)
100%

I have been shoveling snow for 70 years and this is the easiest  way to go.

1/9/2013 7:28 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (0/0)
80%

It is a nice product that needs some time to get used to. A very pleasant change from just shoveling. Needs to be adjusted to people of differing heights. I highly recommend it.

1/9/2013 7:28 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (0/0)
100%

I'm on season 3 with my Wovel.  One of the best tools/devices that I've ever bought.

1/9/2013 7:28 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (0/0)
60%
mixed review - assembly is too difficult for an "active forever" product - the product, itself, is fabulous. I'm happy to have a Snow Wolf in my shed

Live in US mid-atlantic.  Ordered one after our "small" snowfall late in 2013. Here is what I have to say...
I had a difficult time assembling this product.  I am an (almost) senior citizen - 60 yo female whose hand and overall strength has certainly diminished.  I was very unhappy at the strength and dexterity required to assemble this product.  It took me 2 hours and some ingenuity (which, fortunately, I have).  Tightening the lock nuts was a problem.  I do not own a deep socket wrench and had to rely on adjustable pliers and a medium sized monkey wrench - the design of this product made tightening the nuts A VERY BIG CHALLENGE.  The "plastic tab thing - break them off- for the tire clamps are TERRIBLE - they did not fit well, ultimately broke and I was/am concerned about the staying on of the tire. THE SCREWS PROVIDED FOR THE TIRE CLAMP MECHANISM ARE TOO SHORT!!!!  PLEASE FIX THIS DESIGN PROBLEM.   I used my hair dryer to warm the tire so that I could stretch it enough to span the entire outer circumference of the wheel.  Somehow, I "expected" this contraption to be metal so I was surprised when I unpacked it and it was heavy plastic....  And actually, on the device that was delivered to me, IT WAS DEFECTIVE - It was a collapsible model and 1/2 of the joint was manufactured such that it could not be assembled for the shorter heights.  Luckily, I am tall (> 5'7").  Anyway, after the 2 hour struggle to get it assembled, I never did get a chance to try it - my friend came over to help me with our 9" of dry, fluffy snow on the ground and HE LOVED IT.  (And he is much shorter than me) He loved the wovel - it was very efficient and he found it easy and effective.  (I may buy one for him).
I would recommend this product.  I SUGGEST AND REQUEST THAT THE ASSEMBLY PROBLEMS BE ADDRESSED.  The whole thing is, that if this is supposed to be an "active forever" product the assembly needs to also be easy/comfortable for those of us with lesser strength.  My "low" review is all about the assembly.  The use and effectiveness of the product is excellent.

1/3/2014 3:38 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes / No (1/0)

Leverage our buying power. We serve GOV/EDU/MIL, employers, facilities & inventors.

  Account set up & astute solutions guidance.
  Free edu catalogs for your staff & community.

Engage in our innovative medical & health care, sales, education & marketing programs.

  Publishing, marketing & lead gen programs.
  Vendors/Investors: full-service solutions.

Get Discovery Digest e-news updates, discounts, and exclusive offers.

  
  EZ Publish our Discovery Digest free.